The Synchronicities Of Life

I woke up one morning and felt a strange sense of purpose that day. I couldn’t put my finger on it…because that feeling was fleeting and elusive. So I got up, like I would any other day and went about my morning routine.

I got ready for the day and got my kids ready for their day at school. I prepared breakfast. And then, when the time came, I took them to school as I had always done. Nothing seemed out of the ordinary up till that point.

After I dropped the kids off at school, as I sat in the car at a stop light, I had this sudden feeling. I knew the light was going to change exactly when it did. I can’t tell you how I knew, but it did change.

Now that is something one could blow off as random with a momentary ‘huh…interesting’ and then moving on. But it didn’t stop there that day. Small things like that continued to happen throughout the day.

I sat in the car later thinking about an issue I had been contemplating for some time and a part of me wished that there would be some response…from deity…from the universe…from the higher self that was me….from where ever. And as I looked up, I saw a hawk circling overhead, as though it waited for my notice. I heard it call at that moment and it sent shivers down my spine. And then I watched as it slowly disappeared into the distance.

Again, this could be taken as something random. I could have sat there and thought nothing of this hawk except ‘Wow….pretty!’ and moved on with my day, still feeling as though there was no comfort…no answer to my beckoning. But I didn’t….I felt warm and comforted. And even though I had no resolution to the issue, I felt as though I could tackle it with new vigor simply because I felt supported in some small way. And in that moment, it didn’t feel random at all. It felt as though it was meant for me and me alone.

I went inside and sat at my computer. I opened my email and there was another random message….which on the surface seemed like spam. But upon opening it my eyes were assaulted with pictures of blessings and love. And again I felt as though it were something sent to me when I needed it most. Random spam didn’t seem so random after all.

Hmmm….what is the point of this story? It’s message is very subtle. It’s about the synchronicities of life ~ the small things we tend not to notice or dismiss as random or inconsequential. It’s about perception and faith. It’s about you and your connection to the everything in existence.

Sometimes when we ask for answers, they arrive in ways we can not perceive because they are not what we expect. We want obvious ‘in your face’ answers, when sometimes the answers we seek are gently whispered on the breeze instead.

And beyond it being about what we expect…how we narrow our perception of such things, it’s also about taking the time out of our daily lives, with our busy hectic schedules, to truly listen when the the world…the universe…our inner spirit…speaks to us.

I think the greatest message I ever received in such a time, came when I was in my darkest of moments. And it whispered to me that I wasn’t alone. It told me to have faith in that fact and to hold onto it when I felt myself falling into that darkness. And I clung to it for dear life…to the point that it has saved me more times than I can account for.

So listen when it calls, because it will call eventually. ^_^

~ by Misuchi Sakurai on August 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
